My A to Z Blogging Challenge

Alphabetical inspiration and motivation for bloggers

Z is for Zgorzelec and Zakopane

St Peterskirche across the river in Gorlitz

St Peterskirche across the river in Gorlitz

I expect some of you have heard of Zakopane, in the Tatry Mountains in Poland? Zgorzelec, maybe not, but it is a town of great significance for me. It’s the home of my Uncle Włodek, whom I was lucky enough to visit this Summer.

At the end of World War 2, which scattered families like my Dad’s far and wide, the Rivers Neisse and Oder were established as the border between Poland and East Germany, and the town was split apart. The German part retained the name Görlitz, and the Polish part became Zgorzelec.

Please click here to read more of the story.

About restlessjo

Hi! I’m Jo! Johanna when I’m feeling posh, Jan to my Dad, and Joasiu to my Polish family. A bit of a mix-up, that’s me. The one constant, however, is my restless nature. I love to travel and to explore our world. It doesn’t have to be the big wide world. I can be ridiculously happy not too far from home, so long as I’m seeking new horizons. Of course I have a wish list, and it was to help me fulfil my dreams that I started to write travel guides for a venture called Simonseeks. I’d always kept a travel diary, and it was hugely satisfying to share my experiences and to make new friends who shared my passion for travel. Alas, Simonseeks hit a few troubles, but I still find myself writing about my travels. I’ve become addicted. I’d love to share them, and to make more friends. So, it has to be a blog- right? Or do I mean- write?

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Browse categories