My A to Z Blogging Challenge

Alphabetical inspiration and motivation for bloggers

R is for “rodzina”

Arriving at the farm in Zawady, with my cousin Adam

Arriving at the farm in Zawady, with my cousin Adam

Rodzina is the Polish word for family, and what an important word it is.

For many years “Polish family”, to me, meant just Dad.  My English mother, Nancy, has been dead for 23 years, and, having no brothers and sisters, ours was a small family unit.  Then came the fateful phone call.  I’ve told the story countless times, but it still fills me with wonder.

Please click here to read more.

About restlessjo

Hi! I’m Jo! Johanna when I’m feeling posh, Jan to my Dad, and Joasiu to my Polish family. A bit of a mix-up, that’s me. The one constant, however, is my restless nature. I love to travel and to explore our world. It doesn’t have to be the big wide world. I can be ridiculously happy not too far from home, so long as I’m seeking new horizons. Of course I have a wish list, and it was to help me fulfil my dreams that I started to write travel guides for a venture called Simonseeks. I’d always kept a travel diary, and it was hugely satisfying to share my experiences and to make new friends who shared my passion for travel. Alas, Simonseeks hit a few troubles, but I still find myself writing about my travels. I’ve become addicted. I’d love to share them, and to make more friends. So, it has to be a blog- right? Or do I mean- write?

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on October 29, 2013 by in Family, My Personal A to Z, Poland, R is for..., Travel, Writing and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Browse categories